Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education (E4) Award

Nomination Form »

The E4 Award will be granted to an educator who has made a significant contribution to the profession in the area of educating practitioners. The award will be jointly administered by AAEES and AEESP and will be bestowed annually at the AAEES Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science (E3) awards banquet. A monetary award of $1,000 with an additional $500 for travel by the award recipient to the annual E3 ceremony will be granted to the winning nominee.

Examples of significant contributions include:

  1. Development of educational material or text that enhances the ability of students to succeed as professional environmental engineers serving as practitioners in roles such as infrastructure design and project leadership.
  2. Demonstration of successful course or curricula development aimed at educating practitioners. Successful deployment of the Environmental Engineering Body of Knowledge concepts.
  3. Creation of unique methods or curricula that challenge and inspire students in the area of environmental engineering practice.
  4. Demonstration of successful student educational outcomes (examples include: letters of support/nomination from former students currently practicing environmental engineering, former students passing PE, former students showing leadership as practitioners, critical projects that former students have led).
  5. Establishment of positive student mentoring relationships or programs.
  6. Contributions to the profession in terms of activity in professional organizations, delivery of lectures, and interaction with public agencies and the consulting community to bridge the gap between university education and environmental engineering practice.
  7. Open to all university faculty teaching environmental engineering.

Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and can be modified during the current nomination period. Refer to the nomination package for the required submission requirements.

*Eligibility: This award is open to all university faculty teaching environmental engineering (not only AAEES or AEESP members).

Past Recipients

2023Yuefing Xie
2022Chad Jafvert
2021Lynn Katz
2020Susan J. Masten
2019Sarina J. Ergas
2018Richard Valentine
2017James Mihelcic
2016(No award recipient)
2015Larry Nies
2014Daniel Oerther
2013John T. Novak
2012George Tchobanoglous