Frederick George Pohland Medal

Nomination Form »

Nominations must be made by members of AEESP and/or AAEES. Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and can be modified during this period. Refer to the nomination package for the required submission requirements.

Dr. Frederick G. Pohland (1931-2004) was Professor at the Georgia Institute of Technology and Professor and Edward R. Weidlein Chair of Environmental Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh. Fred's research led to fundamental advances in anaerobic processes. He received numerous honors and awards and was the author of more than 150 technical and scientific publications. Dr. Pohland was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1993 for advancing the theory of anaerobic treatment processes and applications to solid waste management. Committed to applying research to practice and disseminating vital information, Dr. Pohland founded and chaired International Water Association (IWA) Specialist Committees to bring together practitioners, researchers and educators. Fred Pohland was a valued colleague and very dedicated to advancement of the profession of environmental engineering.

*Eligibility: Only members of AEESP and/or the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES) are eligible to receive this award.  An individual may receive the award only once; previous winners are ineligible.

AAEES and AEESP thank the Pohland family and other donors to the Frederick George Pohland Memorial Fund for their generosity in establishing this award.

Past Recipients

Year Recipients Institution
2021 Nancy G. Love University of Michigan
2020 Debra R. Reinhart University of Central Florida
2019 Spyros Pavlostathis Georgia Tech
2018 Charles Bott Hampton Roads Sanitation District
2017 Dan Oerther Missouri University of Science & Technology
2016 Glenn T. Daigger University of Michigan
2015 Morton Barlaz North Carolina State University
2014 C.P. Leslie Grady, Jr.  
2013 David Stensel University of Washington
2012 Michael K. Stenstrom University of California, Los Angeles
2011 John T. Novak Virginia Tech
2010 David Jenkins David Jenkins & Associates
2009 Louis J. Thibodeaux Louisiana State University
2008 Makram Suidan American University of Beirut
2007 George Tchobanoglous  
2006 C. Herb Ward Rice University
2005 Rhodes Trussell
Ray Loehr

University of Texas at Austin