Virginia Tech Student Travel Award

This endowed award was established in 2007, and was the first award sponsored by the newly formed AEESP Foundation. It is given biannually to a Virginia Tech undergraduate or graduate student to support his or her travel to attend the biennial AEESP Education and Research Conference. Recipients are chosen based on a combination of need and merit, as decided by the faculty of Virginia Tech’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. The award provides up to $750 in travel support to attend the conference.

The award plaque, which contains the names of the award winners and hangs at Virginia Tech, was presented to Bill Knocke, Chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, at the 2007 AEESP Education and Research Conference held at Virginia Tech. It reads:

"In memory of the civil and environmental engineering students and faculty who lost their lives to senseless violence in 2007, the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) Foundation has endowed funds to support the travel of one Virginia Tech student who is either in the final stages of undergraduate education or early stages of graduate education to attend the AEESP Education and Research Conference.  This award is intended to help remind the Virginia Tech faculty and students that they are part of a larger family who shared their sense of loss in 2007 and wished to foster a continuing strong relationship of Virginia Tech faculty and students with AEESP."

*Eligibility: Consideration for this award is limited to students who are (1) enrolled part or full time at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and (2) have full admission to an undergraduate or graduate level program in environmental engineering or a closely related field.

Past Recipients

2023Tolulope O. Odimayomi
2022Matthew Blair
2013Caitlin Proctor
2011Nicole Fahrenfeld
2009Andrew Whelton