Paul F. Boulos Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award

Nomination Form »

*Formerly the Innovyze Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award

This award is given annually to recognize a student whose research contributes to the knowledge pool of in the area of Computational Hydraulics & Hydrology. The award selection will be based on original, innovative research of publishable quality and other factors listed below. Both Master's and Ph.D. students are eligible.

The award will consist of a plaque and a cash honorarium of $1,500 for the student and a plaque and cash honorarium of $500 for the major faculty advisor. A $500 travel allotment is provided to the student recipient to attend the American Academy of Environmental Engineers & Scientists (AAEES) Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Awards Luncheon. The award selection is administered jointly by a committee consisting of equal numbers of AAEES and AEESP members. The award is co-sponsored by Dr. Paul F. Boulos, BCEEM.

Eligible applicants will be judged based on the following criteria:

  1. academic program performance (35%),
  2. research accomplishment (35%),
  3. professional or community service (15%),
  4. purpose and goals (10%), and
  5. any other evidence provided (5%).

An applicant remains eligible up to one calendar year following graduation and receipt of the degree earned. Refer to the nomination package for the required submission requirements.

Click here for a summary of past Student Award winners.

Past Recipients

2023Tom Jan Willem Postma (Princeton University)
2023Zhaocheng Wang (Arizona State University)
2022Noemi Vergopolan (Princeton University)
2018Jonathan Bradshaw (Stanford University)
2018Ahmed Abokifa (Washington University in Saint Louis)
2017Qian Zhang (Johns Hopkins University)
2016Jennifer Jefferson (Colorado School of Mines)
2015Amy Dale (Carnegie Mellon University)